MEMBERSHIP

In September 1945, when the club reformed after the war, the original members numbered 20. Two of these members- Messrs. Sid Goble and Harold Jeffreys- subsequently donated cups for The Club Handicap and 100–Up competitions.

Membership in the 1950's was about 30, going down in the 1960's and 1970's to the midtwenties. A membership drive, instigated by David and Anita Goddard in the 1980's saw membership rise to the mid-sixties and then levelled off in the high eighties until the new millenium saw a drop again to the mid-sixties.

Sir Richard Thornton, after being elected a Vice President in 1949, was elected President. In 1984, where he remained until 1991. The Club President is now a non-elected honorary post, appointed by the committee, each incumbent normally serving for a maximum three years.

The greenkeeper, Mike Varley, who has been a member since 1978, is the club's greatest asset.

Currently, members come from:

Seale, Sands, Ash, Aldershot, Badshot Lea, Churt, Elstead, Farnham, Normandy, Puttenham, Runfold, Weybourne, Wrecclesham and a few further afield.

Lady members were afforded equal rights with men in 1950 when the first lady (Mrs Susan Cox, wife of the then President Commander L.F. Cox) became a full member. She was immediately. appointed Treasurer. In later years she and her husband donated the Festival Cup as the trophy for the men's competition.

